CUSTOMS QUESTIONS???? ASK HERE

capsule toy co

Aug 30, 2005
we have made this thread for those who have questions on anything reguarding the art of customization, feel free to ask anything here instead of making a new thread about it.

leanmachine

May 14, 2006
I know there's a few custom guides, but anyone have any advice for a complete beginner? I've figued out how to clean and restore dunks really well, but never did any customs

Just wondering where to buy some all white cheap kicks, and what works best, what shoe and what paint, and if spraypainting with stencils works

krewskater

Oct 19, 2006
Journeys sells all white leather dunks for $75. If you wanna spray them, try using an airbrush (createx paint is what i use), otherwise angelus is pretty good.

Will Krylon Crystal Clear work on leather (dunks)? I just got some and wanna make sure its good before i use it.
And, does anyone have advice on how to make good croc print? Like the "diamond 2's" that were posted on here (the ones that got deleted because of the upgrade, the kid used an x-acto to cut the croc instead of a woodburner).

krewskater

Oct 19, 2006
ok, ya i am. What clear coats would you reccomend then (if any)?
And ya, i was gonna use a woodburner, i was just trying to describe the shoes that had the croc skin.

capsule toy co

Aug 30, 2005
i like liquitex paints alot for working on leather and midsoles, i think they work really well, but make sure it's not the stuff that comes in the tubes called basics, make sure you get the stuff in bottles it's alittle more pricey but it works well since it's plyable and wont crack. can be found at almost any art supply or hobbie store

krewskater

Oct 19, 2006
ok, i figured id ask because in the painting leather shoes thread it said to add krylon matte varnish, which i couldnt find, so i just bought that stuff instead

kingkelly

May 5, 2006